1. Introduction and Overview

What do governors do?

Coming soon

Key Roles and Responsibilities

Coming soon

The Sub Committees

There are full Governing Body meetings each term. Much of the work however is carried out in sub committees. More details about the Sub-Committees can be found in section 3 below. 

2. Current Governing Body Information

 Governor Appointment Information    

Register of Interest


Governor Full Name Date of Appointment Term of Office (years) Appointing / Elective Body Relevant Business / Pecuniary Interests  Other Educational Establishments Governed Material Relationships (with staff or governors) 
Elizabeth Aspin (Chair)    4 Foundation Governor at St Damian’s RC Science College in Ashton-under-lyne Related to Emily Aspin
Emily Aspin   Foundation –  Related to Elizabeth Aspen 
Kevin Toms   Foundation Governor at St James RC Primary School in Hattersley 
Francesca Roberts   Foundation –  – 
Judith Kelly (Vice Chair)   LA –  – 
Denise Brahms   Foundation –  – 
Stephanie Sloan   Parent  –  –  – 
Helen Hayes   Executive Headteacher  –  – 
Rev Fr Simon Firth   4   Governor at St Damian’s RC Science College and St Christopher’s RC Primary School, both in Ashton-under-Lyne
Margaret Ludlam   4  
Janet Bostock   4 Staff

3. Governing Board Sub-Committees Information 2016-2017

  • Coming soon

4. Governors who positions expired or who left during 2016-2017

Governor Appointment Information

Register of Interest

Governor Full Name

Date of Appointment

Date Ceased Office

Appointing / Elective Body

Relevant Business / Pecuniary Interests

Other Educational Establishments Governed

Material Relationships (with staff or governors)

 Pierina Cicchirillo-Bower            

5. Governing Board Attendance Record

 Governor Full Name     Meetings (Y if attended)



  Full Meeting Finance Finance  Full Meeting  Finance  Full Meeting  
  12/05/15  17/06/15 01/10/15  06/10/15  13/01/16  08/02/2016   
Elizabeth Aspin Y  Y  Y  Y  Y  Y  
Emily Aspin    
Kevin Toms      
Francesca Roberts        
Judith Kelly  
Denise Brahms            
Pierina Cicchirillo-Bower      
 Helen Hayes  
Rev Fr Simon Firth          
Margaret Ludlam          
Janet Bostock        
Helen Hayes              

Meet The Governors

Elizabeth Aspin (Chair of Governors)

I have been a governor at Our Lady of Mount for 15 years, first as parent then as a foundation governor. My daughter, Emily, attended Our Lady’s so I know what an amazing school it is. I have worked for the local authority for the past 27 years and work with vulnerable people in the community. It is a pleasure to be able to serve Catholic education at Our Lady’s. Both children and staff are very welcoming.

Emily Aspin

I am an ex-pupil of Our Lady of Mount Carmel.

Kevin Toms

I have been a foundation Governor since January 2009 following my retirement from my headteacher post at St. Paul’s Catholic Primary School, Hyde. I was born and brought up in Hyde, attending St. Paul’s and later St. Peter and St. Paul’s, Dukinfield.I have always wanted to support my local Catholic primary schools so was happy to become a governor both here and at St. James, Hattersley. I also work closely with the Shrewsbury Diocese on inspections and appointments of headteachers and deputies.

Francesca Roberts

I currently have three children attending Our Lady of Mount Carmel. They are all very happy and feel supported and encouraged to develop their own individual gifts and talents. Our Lady of Mount Carmel is a caring and welcoming school that strives to put Christ at the centre of everything it does. As a Governor, I welcome the opportunity to be part of the school community and to do my best to contribute to its continued development and success.

Judith Kelly

I have been part of Our Lady’s school community for 15 years, starting as a parent of two going through the school, a member of the PTA for 9 years (recently resigned) and as a governor. I am the LA Governor, vice chair and chair of finance. I have always found Our Lady’s to be an excellent Catholic school, with a warm welcome to everyone and a high standard of education and behaviour. I am proud to be part of the school family.

Denise Maxwell-Brahms

I have lived in Ashton for 14 years. I am married to John and we have two children. We are practising Catholics who have a long association with Our Lady’s. My son Jude attended Our Lady’s before transferring to St. Damian’s Science College and my daughter Scarlett is in Year 4. I am fully committed to the future development of the school and the development of all children regardless of background or ability. I am currently Senior Deputy at a large Catholic secondary school in Leigh, Wigan. I don’t really have any time for hobbies but I do like going to the cinema, reading, camping in Scotland and long country walks.